Why small cats?
There are 40 species of wild cats in the Felidae, the family of cats.  

There are 7 big cats
cheetah, jaguar, leopard, lion, puma, snow leopard, and tiger

There are 33 small cats
African golden cat, African wildcat, Andean cat, Asiatic golden cat, bay cat, bobcat, black-footed cat, Canada lynx, caracal, Chinese mountain cat, clouded
leopard, Eurasian lynx, Eurasian wildcat,  fishing cat, flat-headed cat, Geoffroy's cat, guigna, jaguarundi, Javan leopard cat, jungle cat, Iberian lynx, leopard
cat, manul, marbled cat, margay, northern tigrina, pampas cat, ocelot, rusty-spotted cat, sand cat, serval, Sunda clouded leopard, and southern tigrina

Members of the IUCN Cat Specialist Group have ranked all wild cats according to their population status in the wild.  
The Iberian lynx is ranked Critically Endangered.
Six species are ranked Endangered:
Andean cat, bay cat, fishing cat, flat-headed cat, snow leopard, and tiger.

Small cats face a variety of threats but receive very little conservation funding to help reduce and mitigate threats.  
Less than 1% of conservation funding for all wild cats is invested in 33 species of small cats!